June Blog Challenge, Post V: Pets

Here’s the prompt for Day 5 of the June Blog Challenge over at Waiting for Baby.

Do you have any pets?

I do have a pet, he’s a Miniature Schnauzer named Apollo. To my Husband, he’s our pet. To me, he’s my son. We got Apollo as a puppy right around the time I found out about my Endo & PCOS, and that we’d have trouble getting pregnant. Almost immediately he went from being my pet puppy to being my child.

Having such intense baby fever and struggling to accept my conditions sort of transformed our bond into what it is today. Apollo and I are inseparable. He means the world to me!

He’ll be two this year! He was born in November 2011, and we got him in January of 2012, while Husband and I were living in Statesboro. He was such a pain in the ass to train! Potty training him was a torturous test of patience and restraint. He constantly did his business in the house during the first few months of the year until it started warming up outside.

He’s such a brilliant little one! He’s very smart and learns very quickly! It took me just a week to teach him our most common commands. He knows how to open doors on his own; he’s very curious, and incredibly loving.

He’s a bit of a jerk to other people, but we’re working on it!

Leave a Reply

